Beware: Facebook Scam Disguised as Photo Notification

Mashable recently wrote an article about a scam that has been circulating as a Facebook email encouraging members to view photos as an attachment. Security firm Sophos identified the new strain of malware as Troj/Agent-XNN. Here is what you need to know about it:

  • The infected link is disguised as a Facebook notification email.
  • Facebook email notifications typically indicate which friend has tagged you in a picture, but this malware email vaguely states “one of your friends added a new photo with you to the album.”
  • After clicking on the infected link, a zip file containing malware opens and gives hackers full control over Windows-operated computers.
  • This is what the fake email message looks like:

 Image

If you receive an email like this, the best thing to do is delete it right away. DO NOT open any attachments or links. If the notification is legitimate, it should appear as usual when you login to Facebook. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s